Meet Kenna: Finding Balance – school, work, play, and Lifeworks

Lifeworks volunteer Kenna Wieczorek

by: Kath Pengelly, volunteer & advocate coordinator

Kenna Wieczorek is attending Minnesota State University in Mankato with the goal of becoming an elementary school teacher. This fall she needed twenty service learning hours for Human Relations in a Multi-Cultural Society class. She contacted Lifeworks wondering if we could help her complete the required hours.

Some days she played games, helped with art projects, and set up lunches, and some days she was a listening friend to someone who just wanted to talk. She fulfilled the twenty hour requirement weeks ago but continues to come. I wondered what motivates a busy person like Kenna who is trying to balance school, work, National Honor Society, and family to continue to volunteer.

 Kenna explained to me that Lifeworks has provided her with an eye-opening experience. Prior to her time with us, she has only known one person who has autism. Now she has a completely different outlook regarding the term disability. Kenna had this to say,

“After volunteering with Lifeworks for the past two months my whole perception of people with disabilities has changed. They are so much more than whatever disability they have. They are each so kind and caring and show it in their own way. Interacting with their unique personalities is what I look forward to when I go there. I think what Lifeworks is and what it stands for is a great thing. Giving people the opportunity to feel important by helping them with jobs and giving them the opportunity to socialize and learn throughout the day is so good for them as individuals.”

I asked Kenna if she thinks she will continue to come to Lifeworks after this semester is over even though she is busy. She responded, “Yes, I definitely think so. I keep coming because I enjoy it so much. As long as my crazy schedule allows, I think I will keep volunteering here. I like knowing that I am helping the staff and that I might be brightening some of the clients days when I’m there, it makes me feel good.”

Interns, volunteers, and service learners, both individuals and groups play a vital role in the day-to-day workings of Lifeworks and enhance our ability to assist people with disabilities in creating the lives they want to live. Each opportunity is unique! Join us like Kenna did for a minimum of 20 hours and maybe you will stay with us too.

Please call Kath Pengelly at 651-365-3720 or email me at kpengelly@lifeworks.org

Kenna volunteering with Lifeworks Mankato clients

Leave a comment

Filed under Volunteers

Leave a Reply

